Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

Activity Groups

Activity Groups are grouped into three different categories. 

  1. Competitive/Performance based activities
  2. Non-Competitive/Non-Performance based activities
  3. Service Groups

Students who wish to start a new activity group or club, must have a significant number of students interested in joining, and they must have a staff advisor.  Students in competitive/performance based groups must adhere to the Activity Code guidelines in order to fully participate.

Questions regarding activity group participation should be directed to the High School Activities & Athletics Office. 
Office Phone: 414.766-5071

Ante Udovicic
Activities, Athletics & Recreation Coordinator
audovicic@sdsm.k12.wi.us

Sarah Nowak
Activities & Athletics Secretary
snowak@sdsm.k12.wi.us


 

Competition/Performance Based Groups

ART HONOR SOCIETY
Advisor: Emily Everson
eeverson@sdsm.k12.wi.us

The National Art Honor Society consists of students who have shown outstanding ability in art and have the desire to bring art to the attention of the school and community. The students volunteer for various activities throughout the year and compete the Visual Arts Classic competition, both regionally and at the state level. The NAHS members are provided with opportunities to participate in art competitions and art shows, as well as scholarships provided by the NAHS. 

COLOR GUARD
Advisor: Gail Kablau
gkablau@sdsm.k12.wi.us
Color Guard Website

Performs with the Marching Band for Fall home football games, and local parades at different times of the year. Summer training is required in order to prepare for the Fall marching season. The football season runs from mid-August to mid-October.


DECA
Advisor: Marty Johnson 
mjohnson@sdsm.k12.wi.us

DECA prepares emerging leaders and entrepreneurs in marketing, finance, hospitality and management in high schools and colleges around the globe.


FBLA
Advisor: Dave Fix
dfix@sdsm.k12.wi.us

Business education association preparing students for careers in business.


FCCLA
Advisor: Hayley Brania
hbrania@sdsm.k12.wi.us

Family, Career and Community Leaders of America is a national Career and Technical Student Organization that provides personal growth, leadership development, and career preparation opportunities for students in Family and Consumer Sciences education.


FIRST ROBOTICS
Advisor:  Adam Fleming
afleming@sdsm.k12.wi.us

The varsity sport for the MindTM, FRC combines the excitement of sport with the rigors of science and technology. Under strict rules, limited resources, and time limits, teams of 25 students or more are challenged to raise funds, design a team "brand," hone teamwork skills, and build and program robots to perform prescribed tasks against a field of competitors. It’s as close to "real-world engineering" as a student can get. Volunteer professional mentors lend their time and talents to guide each team.


HOSA
Advisor: Amy McConnell
amcconnell@sdsm.k12.wi.us

HOSA is a national student organization recognized by the U.S. Department of Education and the Health Science Education (HSE) Division of ACTE. HOSA's two-fold mission is to promote career opportunities in the health care industry and to enhance the delivery of quality health care to all people. HOSA's goal is to encourage all health science instructors and students to join and be actively involved in the HSE-HOSA Partnership.


MATH TEAM
Advisor: Daphne Leigh
dleigh@sdsm.k12.wi.us

The High School Math team is a group of students who compete in math in on and off campus competitions. We are open to any interested student.


SkillsUSA
Advisor: Scott Jaeckel
sjaeckel@sdsm.k12.wi.us

SkillsUSA empowers its members to become world-class workers, leaders and responsible American citizens. SkillsUSA improves the quality of our nation’s future skilled workforce through the development of Framework skills that include personal, workplace and technical skills grounded in academics.


THEATRE - Fall Play & Spring Musical
Theatre Director: Tim Backes
tbackes@sdsm.k12.wi.us
Theatre Website

Produces a play in the fall for performance in November, and a spring musical performance in March. 


TRAP SHOOTING
This is a Cudahy group that South Milwaukee students may join. 

Advisor: Craig Swiatek
craigswiatek@gmail.com

Other Groups

ANIME CLUB
Advisor: Emily Everson
eeverson@sdsm.k12.wi.us

The Anime Club is lead by a group of students with an interest in watching, discussing, and drawing anime.


BAY MIST YEARBOOK
Advisor: Katie Swanson
kswanson@sdsm.k12.wi.us

Coordinates the annual yearbook set up


Gender & Sexuality Alliance (GSA)
Advisor: Heather Hanson
hhanson@sdsm.k12.wi.us

A student club that works to improve school climate for all students, regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity/expression.


HIKING CLUB
Advisor: Ian Sweet
Email: isweet@sdsm.k12.wi.us

The SMHS Hiking Club provides opportunities for all members to experience the great outdoors. Students involved in the club meet each month and plan a monthly hike. This planning includes the location (park or trail system), route, distance, time, and date of the hike. Hiking club meetings also include great conversations about trail etiquette, hiking gear, nature, and much more! We are an inclusive club that promotes friendship and fellowship in a natural setting. Bring a little serenity to your life by joining the SMHS Hiking Club. Happy trails!


 

         LEO CLUB


Advisor:  Marta Ahler
mahler@sdsm.k12.wi.us

The Leo Club is an arm of the South Milwaukee Lion's Club. The South Milwaukee Leos Club was officially chartered in May 2012 and is a volunteer service club open to high school and middle school age-teens.


LINK CREW
Advisor: Aaron Larson
aalarson@sdsm.k12.wi.us

Link Crew is a high school transition program that welcomes freshmen and makes them feel comfortable throughout the first year of their high school experience.


ORBIT
Advisor: Dave Fix
dfix@sdsm.k12.wi.us

Orbit is the school retail store. The store is open during the lunch hours on days when school is in session and at selected all school events. 


SM GREEN
Advisor: Dan Lesniak
dlesniak@sdsm.k12.wi.us

SM Green is a student environmental group, has four main areas of focus:
1. environmental education throughout the district, grade school through high school
2. outreach to encourage South Milwaukee residents to live sustainably
3. campus stewardship through waste reduction and maintaining biodiversity
4. “field trip” opportunities to enjoy nature by connecting directly with it.


SOCIETY OF WOMEN ENGINEERS
Advisor: Ben Quartemont
bquartemont@sdsm.k12.wi.us

The Society of Women Engineers (SWE) is an educational and service organization that empowers women to succeed and advance in the field of engineering, and to be recognized for their life-changing contributions as engineers and leaders.


STUDENT SENATE
Advisor: Julie Lietz
jlietz@sdsm.k12.wi.us
Student Senate Website

Student senate is the student government organization, organizing school-wide events, including, but not limited to: Homecoming events, and student dances. 

Student Senate members also are exposed to training opportunities throughout the year. 


UNITY
Advisor: Courtney Talley
ctalley@sdsm.k12.wi.us

Multicultural awareness group. 
Sign-Up form